Guest Blog: Four Things A Good Query Does

P1230541

I’m guest blogging over at the Third Story Writers Guild. They are a fabulous group of writers who live in the Butternut/Park Falls area of Wisconsin. They hosted me for an author talk when I visited Butternut last summer.

I’m sharing the Four Things A Good Query Does. If you’ve ever wanted to pick my brain on what I learned from 7 years of querying, stop by and ask a question. I’ll be answering them all day.

*****

Quick reminder:

Upcoming Author Event

If anyone in the Boston area wants to meet me, I’ll be at Arisia 2014 on January 19th at 11:30 am on a panel about fortune telling methods. I’m happy to sign books before and after.

This entry was posted in guest blogs, Querying and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Guest Blog: Four Things A Good Query Does

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    Great article, Kourtney. I left a comment, but it vanished. Probably in moderation. 🙂

  2. Thank you for this beneficial guide, Kourtney!

  3. jmmcdowell says:

    Excellent post, Kourtney. It takes some doing, but I did get my comment published over on Blogger. 🙂

  4. Arlene says:

    Great tip. I’ll be saving these for when my time comes 🙂 Thanks Kourtney!

  5. Sheila says:

    Great advice! Now if you could tell us exactly how to do a synopsis….:) I’m horrible at those. That’s great that you’ll be in Boston! I don’t get over the bridge often but I’m tempted. I’ll let you know if I end up anywhere around there.

    • LOL. I could try my hand at that next. 😉 Took me years to get a decent one written. I’m excited! Aw if you do let me know. I’d love to do something in Cape Cod this spring/summer. Any ideas on places that are open to indie authors doing workshops/author talks?

      • Sheila says:

        If you make it over that bridge, then I’ll definitely have to find you. For bookstores, Eight Cousins in Falmouth and Books by the Sea in Osterville are great ones. The libraries around here also host talks like that and Coffee Obsession sells books by indie authors. If you wanted to join the Cape Cod Writers Center, they’ll host talks and I’ve seen lots of books sold at those afterwards. You might not even have to be a member to do a talk. Let me know where you’ll be! 🙂

        • Cool! I was thinking to try for something this spring/summer. It’s a 3-4 drive from where I live, but quite doable. 🙂 I’ll reach out to these bookstores and the CCWC and see if they have anything I can join in or do as an individual author.

  6. 4amWriter says:

    Great article, Kourtney. I usually have trouble with Blogger, but all systems were a go for me. 😉

  7. Pete Denton says:

    There seems to be a common theme about our struggles with Blogger!

    Great guest post and good prompting for when we need to think about a query letter. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  8. More good advice for us, thank you for sharing your hard-won wisdom Kourtney!

  9. Mayumi-H says:

    Thanks for sharing, Kourtney! It’s always good to see an experienced author’s bits and bobs when it comes to something so amorphous and puzzling as querying. 🙂

    Good luck with your author visit, too!

    • Happy to help! Queries took me years to truly grasp and then it was really simple. Before that it was confounding and frustrating and impossible. 🙂 Thanks! I’m excited for Arisia first fantasy convention. 🙂

Leave a Reply

