Resolution Wrap Up and New Goals

IMG_4212

Here’s my quarterly update for Q4 2014:

  1. Lose 35 lbs and keep it off.–Since last December 2012, I lost and kept off  a total of 10 lbs.
  2. Exercise 4-5 days per week.–I’ve been working out almost daily in December and January.
  3. Follow a low-carb eating regimen.–Had good weeks and bad days. Feel so much better when I stick to it. 
  4. Indie publish my novel, The Six Train to WisconsinDone in late April/early May for the ebook and paperback. Woohoo!
  5. Find a full-time job and move back to a major or minor city.–Decided to devote myself to being  a full-time author and see if I can make it. It sounds incredibly optimistic, but I’ve structured my life so that I can write full time because that’s what I want most right now. I’m also incredibly fortunate that I have free room and board and financial and emotional support from my parents. Otherwise, this would not be possible. 
  6. Submit my third manuscript to agents and publishers.–My agent likes the idea and asked to see it once I polish it up. I’m planning to go through beta reader comments in February and finish revisions in May. 

2014 Goals

1) Goal: Move more

  • Action Plan:  I will move for at least 45-80 minutes each day doing cardio, toning, or weights. I will get up from this laptop every hour for at least 5 minutes and move around. 

2) Goal: Revise third manuscript and send to agent

  • Action Plan: From February until late April/early May I will review beta readers comments and revise third manuscript. Aiming for delivery to agent in later April/early May. Will formalize deadline once I see how much work is required.

3) Goal: Eat a lower carb lifestyle

  • Action Plan: Focus on healthier foods–fruits, vegetables, potatoes, oatmeal. Add them into each meal and cut out processed sugars and white carbs. Aim for 30-40 g of carbs per meal.

4) Goal: Draft first draft of Six Train’s sequel

  • Action Plan: Complete the outline by Feb 5th. Then switch to drafting after I finish third manuscript revisions (as long as Reckonings revisions aren’t required by Harlequin).

I’m cutting back on goals this year in the hopes that less will mean greater progress. I really need to focus on getting healthier and I think I’ll make much more progress. I’m also making the goals simpler. I think it’s easier to say move more every day and do it. I’m also not aiming for a number on the scale–it’s got to be about feeling better and being stronger. And then I’ll get there.

I tried out the exercise daily and it has helped me have more energy and feel better. Cutting away the bad carbs also gave me more energy and made me feel 10 years younger. January was a good trial month. They say it takes 21 days to create a habit. I hope I’ve done that with moving more and eating better.

This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Resolution Wrap Up and New Goals

  1. It sounds like a good plan for the new year, Kourtney. Getting up from our computers frequently is a must. I’ve heard where sitting for long periods can be just as dangerous to our health as smoking. Best of luck to you!

    • Thanks Jill. It’s funny, when I worked in corporate America, I always got up hourly to move. Being at a desk 10-12 hours a day was tough. When I’m writing, I’m always trying to stretch my time at the keyboard to an hour and a half. It is very unhealthy and we do it way too much.

  2. Carrie Rubin says:

    Congrats on your accomplishments. I love to hear that you’re seeing the benefits of exercise. I don’t think my family would want to live with me if I didn’t get my daily fix. Good luck with the outlining, drafting, and revising. So impressed with your productivity!

    • Thanks Carrie. I was a bit too focused on my career in 2012 and 2013 to the detriment of my body. I’m going to try to be more balanced this year. 🙂 Or at least view exercise as good for my writing. 😉 Thanks. I’m really excited by the sequel’s outline. All that up front work seems to make for a much richer plot from the beginning. 🙂

      • Carrie Rubin says:

        I feel the same way about outlining. Makes for a tighter plot, I think.

        • It’s funny in the first in a series, I like a short synopsis and more discovery in my writing–but that always means more revisions. Sequels, I favor the long outline. I know my world better and I’m more concerned with getting the details right and keeping it all straight. 😉 I agree about the tighter plot!

  3. Ally Bean says:

    You inspire me on so many levels. I think that I need to write down my goals + action plan– and then revisit them quarterly like you do. Don’t know that I’ll make all of it public, but just the act of doing said might be what I need to get going. Well, that– and some warmer weather. 😉

    • Aw, thank you. I think the reason lots of goals fail is that we don’t lay out steps and milestones to achieving them. It’s hard to have an annual goal–easier to deal with daily/weekly milestones you shoot for. You absolutely can keep it private.:) The public part is really more motivational for me. Knowing others know when I fail, makes me more likely to try harder. 🙂

  4. You continue to impress me with your chutzpah and determination! I don’t do “resolutions,” but this year posted one at the New Year, because I figured it was time to put it out there and follow through! Making the goals smaller is a good plan, as it’s much easier to achieve them and stick to them if they are attainable. Way to go Kourtney! 😀

    • My parents call it stubbornness. 😉 I can understand that. It’s finding what works for you and doing it. I like resolutions but I also do revisit my goals and change them throughout the year. Smaller and fewer means more focus. Thanks so much! 🙂

  5. Yatin says:

    Not a bad 2013. I am sure those accomplishments (even some partial) will motivate to strive even harder for 2014. It’s always a blessing to have supportive parents.

  6. jmmcdowell says:

    Exercise absolutely helps the writing! A healthier body and healthier mind go hand in hand. And that means a healthier brain with the energy and resources to write those stories. I may not always be writing as much as I’d like even with exercise. But if I stopped exercising? I don’t even want to go there!

    • Absolutely! I have trouble with that balance. And it always gets me in trouble. But this daily exercising being a part of my writing routine helps me prioritize it. Helps me tackle things better. Like when someone makes me mad and I metaphorically dance on their face. Such a stress reliever. 😉

  7. Gwen Stephens says:

    That looks like a great action plan for this year, Kourtney. I think it’s wise to look back at a previous year to see what you’ve accomplished, because all of us have those days when we feel stuck in a rut. Your goals for this year look reasonable and flexible – I like your phrase “action plan” and general statements like “Move more.” Allows you to be flexible in fulfilling the goal.

    Daily exercise has been the ticket for me. As you said, it makes you feel better in almost every way. I’ve got a blog post in the works to show my results.

    • Thanks Gwen! I do these quarterly check ins to hold myself accountable and shame myself into doing better. 😉 That’s what I was aiming for–reasonable and flexible. You are a big inspiration behind the move more. Seeing all the progress you made with running everyday made me think I need to be more like Gwen! 🙂 Can’t wait to read that blog post.

  8. 4amWriter says:

    I wish I could take part in a regular exercise regimen, but my schedule is too sporadic. Of course, if I gave up writing, then I’d have the time to exercise. Priorities, priorities. 🙂

    I like that you’re scaling back on the number of goals this year. I think your reasons make sense.

    • I really tailor it to my day–some days it’s 50 minutes of stretches on the floor in my room with those resistance bands and hand weights, other days it’s treadmill or 60 minutes of Just Dance. Because I work from home, afternoon/lunch break is the best for me. Maybe if you start small–15 minute power walk or 15 minutes of stretches, you might be able to build in daily exercise. It’s not easy and it’s hard work to keep that time for exercising.

      Yeah, I like to experiment–trial and error showed me that lots of annual goals can be tough. And I have other goals along the way, but these are my big picture annual priorities. 🙂

  9. This is so cool! I lost about 8 kg (maybe more – 17.6 pounds) between May & August 2013. Lost a little more weight since last Summer but now I just love my new “lifestyle”, which is basically eating healthy and working out! Started Pilates last September and I’m so happy and proud to be able to stick to a physical activity “routine”.
    So I just wanted to share my experience with you because I know how hard this can be.

    Congrats on all your projects, Kourtney! Can’t wait to read your next book. 🙂
    xxx

    • Congrats Cha! You are awesome! Perfect word choice–it’s a new lifestyle. Just like I carve out time for writing and social media, I carve out time to exercise. It’s time away from the keyboard which rests my mind and lets it play with my story world.

      Aw thank you Cha! I’m excited to be finalizing the outline this week for Six Train’s sequel. And get to polishing the new story. 🙂

  10. Pete Denton says:

    You’ve certainly had a productive 2013! Makes sense to scale the goals back this year, but I wish you success in ticking them off, one by one 🙂

  11. You fulfilled some big goals last year Kourtney, so good luck with your goals for this one. You’re planting those seeds just at the right time of year. January is the time for honing your plans, which you did with your ‘trial month’, so now those seeds can begin to grow as the year warms up and becomes lighter.

    • Thanks Andrea! I hope so. I feel more committed to them than before. I’ve seen results so I hope I will stick with them. 🙂 Beautiful analogy there. Helps me envision it all coming to fruition.

  12. Aquileana says:

    I am sure that you will achieve them all… Well seen all the goals sees to be fairly related one to the other, so it is a sort of domino´s effect . Once you get on the aiming road ; you already have almost 50% of the “duty” accomplished.. (Well at least I have heard so !!!),

    Cheers, Aquileana 🙂

  13. Sheila says:

    Those are all great accomplishments! My NY resolution from last year was to move more and since then, I’ve never moved so little in my life. That’s a tough one when you’re always sitting at the computer. Too bad typing isn’t better exercise. 🙂

    • Thanks! I think it’s about reminding yourself that the movement helps the work. So every hour I get up for a drink, a bathroom break, or to empty the dishwasher or take the dogs out–5-10 minute breaks. When I worked in an office I would do something similar–tea break, water break, bathroom break, snack break, go make a copy break. LOL. It takes effort and practice to incorporate it into the day. But I feel better for it.

  14. I think you are right – fewer makes it easier. (sequel! seque!)
    Exercise will help all the others…and a dog. Dogs definitely worth it.
    Congrats and keep going!

  15. EllaDee says:

    You’ve got balanace. A wrap-up of 2013 goals to see where you’ve been and 2014 goals to set you on your way to another balance: work – life. The toughie. And a balance of old and new projects, revisiting and reworking them. You had a winning formula last year, and I envisage further success coming up 🙂

    • For me, it’s easier to push back when work is a career and not a passion. I work everyday–which I never did in my old careers. But I’m trying to make more time for life here and there. I like to keep everything moving forward this third manuscript didn’t get any of my attention in a year. It deserves a revision. 🙂 Oh thank you! I hope so. Fingers crossed as always.

Leave a Reply

