Barnes and Noble And Open Mic Night

IMG_5877

Last Wednesday, I was part of Barnes and Noble’s Local Authors’ Night in Waterbury. I got to hang out with Elizabeth Barone, who I met last year at the NVCC writing conference. It was great seeing her again!

IMG_5893

We had 7 authors there. Three fiction and 4 non-fiction. A really unique group of books–something for everyone!

IMG_5905

 

IMG_5915

My friend Dayna stopped by with her daughters–it was awesome to see a friendly face!

I sold 4 books that night! Woohoo! That meant 3 were left to grace the local author shelf in B&N!

IMG_5927

Saturday afternoon, I popped in and found my book–there was only 1 left!

IMG_5946

This Tuesday, I was at the Prospect Public Library for it’s first Open Mic Night for Writers. The library had two local published authors join in to share some of their experience. I gave a brief talk on my journey from Wall Street to Wolcott Author.

 

The library has a very active memoir writing group and teen writing group. It was awesome to see so many writers courageously stepping in front of the mic. And not one had a shaky voice! They amazed me.

IMG_5943

 

Here’s my fellow published author, Renee Londner, talking about breaking into the industry and sharing a short story of hers. 

Many thanks to Louise for setting up, organizing the readings and being a joy to work with!

IMG_5941

A ginormous thank you to the library’s Assistant Director, Lisa Murno, who made the entire evening possible! No only did she organize this awesome event and run it so smoothly, she also photographed the entire evening and even got down on bended knee to make sure an elderly woman was able to share her words with the group!

This entry was posted in author appearance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Barnes and Noble And Open Mic Night

  1. how great that your book is selling. Congratulations on all your hard work, LMA

  2. Barnes and Noble…you’ve made it to the big time girl! Congratulations! I was anxious to hear how it went.

  3. Carrie Rubin says:

    How wonderful that your B&N holds an event for local authors. Not all do. So glad you were able to experience it!

    • It’s tough to get in there. I had to wait a year. 🙂 Very cool that we do them here. I believe you–I actually met people who came from towns an hour away to be part of the local authors’ night. 🙂

  4. Harliqueen says:

    Congrats on the success!

    Looks like it was a great time 🙂

  5. Letizia says:

    Sounds like another great evening!

  6. Congratulations on those sales Kourtney and two great events.

  7. Gwen Stephens says:

    You’re always involved in so many interesting promotional activities. I saw a couple of your photos on Facebook, so it was cool to get the inside scoop here. It’s encouraging to see a book giant like B&N reaching out to support local “small time” authors. I had no idea they’d even bother with such a thing. Great post!

    • I try to find new ways to spread the word about Six Train. 🙂 They are great to have these events. They only do a few a year and it’s not easy to get selected for them. It took a year for me to get a spot. 🙂

  8. Chris Edgar says:

    You’re definitely on the book promotion campaign trail and it sounds like you’re enjoying it — it’s inspiring to see. I hope at some point we will get videos of your talks!

  9. diannegray says:

    This is fantastic, Kourtney – well done 😀

  10. Aquileana says:

    Great … What amount of push back you tend to Get…
    Really nice to see you… Very gorgeous writer you are…
    Best wishes, Kourt,
    Aquileana 😉

    • Hi Aquileana. Events are pretty hard to plan and execute. You usually have to send rounds of emails and wait and fill out paperwork and send copies of the book and come up with a concept for the event and sell the venue on you. An event easily takes up 20-40 hours of my time. And then there are all the events that don’t happen– you still spend time reaching out and trying.

      Thanks so much. Aw, you are too sweet! 🙂

  11. lynnkelleyauthor says:

    Wow, Kourtney, congrats on all the wonderful things happening with your books! You go, girl!

  12. 4amWriter says:

    I echo the sentiments here. I don’t know if our local B&N holds events like this, but I think all should. Books are kind of their gig, know what I mean?

    • It’s awesome when bookstores support local authors. I was lucky enough to get into RJ Julias for a local author night as well. It requires a bit of time to research the bookstores that do these things and apply to be a part of them. 🙂

  13. jmmcdowell says:

    Wow, you’d think Barnes & Noble would do that at all their stores! I’m glad yours does and that you were able to get in.

  14. Wonderful, Keep those sales going.. You look great too 🙂 xxxx Lovely photos… xxxx

Leave a Reply

