Fantastic YA Reads: Daughter of Smoke and Bone and Harbinger

 

dsm

 

It is rare that a book feels like a soul. A being that I’ve connected with. But great books are imbued with a soul. A tiny piece of their creator lives inside them.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone tore through my heart and reminded me of every pain and pleasure of love.

It’s a heart-rending tale of two enemies who fell in love and dared to hope…

And what came next.

Laini Taylor writes emotions in a way that makes it impossible not to feel every excruciating and exhilarating moment of it.

This was one of those books that broke me. Called to something that I hid in myself and made me remember things I’ve carefully forgotten.

This book moved me, stirred me, and made me realize things I’ve shied away from.

An impossibly beautiful story, I am a fan for life of Laini Taylor.

 

harbinger

 

I met Sara at the 2012 SCBWI Summer Conference and got my copy of Harbinger signed. At conferences, there are hundreds of books for sale–what grabbed me was her gorgeous cover and her equally cool title. But it was the inside jacket that sold me on the story.

The writing is brilliant. Descriptions that conjured so much imagery in my head. Sentences I swooned over. Each one flows so perfectly into the next, she cast a spell over me each time I opened the book. The pacing made my pulse race and my eyes fly over the pages. I did not want to put this book down.

I loved the romantic subplot between Faye and Kel.

The author used first person point of view expertly. I usually don’t like unreliable narrators, but Ms. Etienne handled it so perfectly I couldn’t wait to find out what was really happening.

The ending was quite a surprise but she laid intricate clues that made the ending very satisfying.

It’s a gripping literary thriller with paranormal elements set in a dystopian world. Truly a masterpiece in cross genre fiction!

 

Other books I read and reviewed:

Divergent

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Fantastic YA Reads: Daughter of Smoke and Bone and Harbinger

  1. I took this off my To-Read list but your review makes me think I made a mistake lol.

  2. kford2007 says:

    I take it then that Laini Taylor’s Days of Blood and Starlight, and Dreams of Gods and Monsters are on your follow up list to read. You MUST read the conclusion to this story.

    • My next project is a trilogy so I am currently reading Days of Blood and Starlight and plan to finish this trilogy in one go. 🙂 I have to really really love an author to read the whole series in a row. 🙂

  3. Carrie Rubin says:

    Sounds like a wonderful book, and I agree, that title is perfect!

  4. Wow Kourtney, this is a powerful review. I don’t read too much paranormal, but I’m intrigued. 🙂

    • If you don’t like paranormal or fantasy, these would probably not be your cup of tea. 🙂 But I’m glad you liked my reviews. I don’t read much realistic fiction, but I do enjoy John Green. 🙂

  5. Aquileana says:

    Hello Kourt…

    Great review… It is really amazing when we come across one of those books that move us. It is even harder to find out a book that “feels like a soul”.as we connect with its plot and characters. I love when that happens!

    Thanks for sharing… Happy friday,

    Aquileana 😀

    • Thanks Aquileana! It’s the best feeling in the world. It usually only happens a few times a year. Right book, right moment, and it just resonates right through me.

      Hugs,
      Kourtney

  6. diannegray says:

    This is sounds wonderful, Kourtney – and what beautiful words you used to explain how it moved you 😀

  7. Sounds an interesting read!.. I hope you are having a good weekend Kourtney 🙂 Hugs Sue xx

  8. jmmcdowell says:

    Finding those books that move us to deep emotion and thought is a rare treat. It sounds like you found two winners here!

    • It’s such a confluence of things. Right book, right moment, right emotional triggers. It’s very rare. I was lucky here. I’ve had a string of great reads lately. Mostly conference books and recommendations from my crit partner. 🙂 Being on a good book roll is so much fun!

Leave a Reply

