Sharing My Craft and Writing World Updates

IMG_8373

Sharing My Craft

On October 18th from 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., in Wolcott, CT at Alcott School (1490 Woodtick Rd) I will have a table at the 33rd Annual Arts and Crafts Fair  where I will be selling signed books and signed photography from my novel and donating 30% of the profits to the Farmingbury Woman’s Club of Wolcott.

There will be tons of crafters there. It’s the perfect place to start your holiday shopping!

***

On November 1st from 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m, in Plantsville, CT at Mulberry Gardens of Southington’s Craft Fair (58 Mulberry Street), I will be selling autographed copies of my novel and my original autographed photography from my novel.

It’s a great community to support by making a few holiday purchases!

 

Drafting Update

I’m at 51,000 words in the draft of Six Train’s sequel. I’m hoping to have the first draft done by early January. It’s only a first draft so it will need several rounds of revisions and editing before it’s ready. I’m hoping to publish in the Fall/Winter of 2016.

 

Query Wars

I’m 8 weeks into querying DM. Upside is I’ve gotten the most requests ever on a manuscript. So the query is doing it’s job. I’m waiting to hear on several requests.

I continue to query because I am a very risk adverse person. I’d rather have other options out there than be blow away when one doesn’t pan out. Also, I know how rare it is for an agent to fall in love with my work. It only happened once before. So I don’t expect it to happen quickly.

 

Website Update

We had a website crisis last week when my web host decided to seamlessly change servers and took my entire site down for a day. My web designer, Jian Chan, worked tirelessly to get most of it back up. It took 3 calls to customer services (roughly 3 hours of our lives) to finally find a solution. Now the site is 100% up again. Phew.

We made some changes there. Jian branded Six Train’s page. We added my pseudonym to the top of every page. And we changed the News page to make it more reader friendly. And the table is easy to use so now I can update it myself!

We also moved sections of the site around so there were less sublevels to the site.

It was about 20 hours of work for both of us.

But I love how it looks.

 

Book Reviews

I haven’t been posting book reviews on the blog because I’m only posting 4 times a month. But I am still doing book reviews. If you want to check them out, they’re on Amazon and Goodreads. If you want me to make them one of my weekly posts, let me know.

 

This entry was posted in author appearance, Events and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sharing My Craft and Writing World Updates

  1. Gwen Stephens says:

    The updated website looks great, Kourtney! I love how you’ve proudly displayed all your awards right on the homepage for all the world to see. You have such a great attitude toward querying, very pragmatic. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that one of those requests will lead to an offer. DM deserves to be out there and read by the masses. Glad to hear the Six Train sequel draft is going well. I’m looking forward to beta reading again for you 🙂

    • Thanks! I spend so much time tweaking it and I realized I hardly ever talk about that aspect of my writer life. And last week was a lot of web work. We wanted to really showcase Six Train on it’s page. 🙂 Aw thanks. I still have my why am I doing this days. BUt I just keep sending them out even when a part of me thinks it’s pointless. Because eventually one of those queries gets a bite. Thanks for crossing your fingers! I want to get DM out there. Thank you so much for being a beta for the sequel. It’s definitely coming along. Many times I’ll leave a placeholder or a comment to go back and fix something, but I’m really trying to push onward and get that initial draft on the page. 🙂

  2. Carrie Rubin says:

    I didn’t realize you had a website (aside from your blog). I’ll have to check it out. Sorry to hear you had so much trouble with it.

    • LOL. I started the blog first. I’ve thought of moving the blog to my website but the functionality changes and the 4 years of links would be cached in google and it just seems like it’s better to leave it where it is. Thanks. It’s so annoying when anyone emails you that they are making a seamless change and then it tears your site down.

  3. Sounds like you’re making great progress Kourtney, both on the sequel and the queries (as well as the ongoing promotion). Sorry you had troubles with the website, but it looks great.

    • I’m trying Andrea. 🙂 I try to push forward a little on querying and drafting each day. And scheduling promotional events whenever I hear about them. Thanks. The most frustrating part was getting the run around after an hour on hold. The problem took 3 calls to resolve. The third was made by my web designer because I was so out of my element trying to talk techie.

  4. Aquileana says:

    Great to know about your updates, particularly those ones regarding the draft of Six Train’s sequel and Six Train’s page.
    Hugs to you, Aquileana 😀

  5. EllaDee says:

    I really like your kourtneyheintz.com site. It’s warm, engaging and funky 🙂 I can see the same thought and effort you direct to all parts of your life, both professional and personal 🙂

    • Thank you! My web designer is amazing. He came up with the color scheme and incorporated little bits of my personality–like the scroll paper and the orchids. We make updates and tweaks on a regular basis to keep it looking good and up to date. 🙂

  6. Whew – technology is great when it works well. Glad you got your website up and running again. So glad you can update it as you like when you like – keeping it fresh is a good idea
    How exciting about the responses to your queries, too. Fall seems to be adding energy. Train’s rollin’!

    • It is. I’ve come to realize nothing is ever seamless, especially with technology. No upgrade or switch is ever seamless. And to tout it as such is delusional. LOL. I can only update my events. It’s in a table that doesn’t require any html unless I do links. I’m not that ambitious yet. 🙂

      It’s really awesome to be getting requests. I think this is one of the most commercial things I’ve written. So hopefully it won’t be as hard to sell as the other stuff. Fingers and toes are crossed. 🙂

  7. jmmcdowell says:

    The website looks great, and I’m happy to hear that Six Train’s sequel is chugging along and on track. 🙂 The query requests sound so promising—my fingers are crossed that one of these agents will fall in love with DM. You would be their dream client with your work ethic!

    • Thanks! Yes, making the best progress I’ve ever made with a first draft. If I stay completely on task it may be done by the end of December. Thanks. Everytime I get a full I am hopeful that it could be the one. Aw thank you. LOL. I think I might drive them a bit crazy with my punctuality. 🙂

  8. You’re inspiring me! Fab job on the queries, on the web page, and on the writing.

Leave a Reply

