Birthday Wishes

 

 

IMG_1219

Sunday was an awesome birthday. I went on a hike with Mom. Spent oodles of time petting Emerson. And had delicious hibachi with my parents. It was a nice break from the promoting and writing.

It also got me thinking about birthday wishes.

You know how I make annual New Year’s Resolutions?

Well this year, I am going to make 3 birthday wishes for the coming year of my life.

 

1) More time to myself.

As an introvert, I need my alone time. So I will be scheduling time to be alone to read, to think, to curl up in bed and cuddle with my dog. It’s a new priority. I am taking at least one full day off each week. Disconnecting and relaxing.

And since I’m starting a part time job this fall, I’ll be pulling back on social media. I’ll be here on the blog and once a day on Facebook. But that’s probably it for a while.

Writing has to come first.

2) Better eating.

I went on a sugar bender this weekend. And my body feels blucky. My skin looks yucky. And my belly is all sorts of bloated.

3) More fun.

I don’t feel like I have enough fun. It feels like I work more now than I ever did before. And the fun that was so easy to findย in my 20s, has been eluding me in my mid and now late 30s.

 

What wishes would you make for your birthday?

 

 

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Birthday Wishes

  1. Happy birthday again Kourtney, with a ‘K’ ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Those sound like excellent birthday resolutions.

    As a fellow introvert, I agree about the alone time. A year or so back I cut down to working 4 days a week instead of 5 just because I so need that alone time to recharge. Financially it’s a stretch, but it’s worth the stretch!

    • Thanks Vanessa! I’ve been working 6-7 days a week for way too long. It’s not healthy and I don’t see a big bump in income. I used to think the harder I worked the more that would happen in my publishing career, but I think it’s working smart. Cutting back to 5-6 days a week makes sense.

      A lot of people don’t get how frayed being on makes me. It’s so much work to be my best self. I need time to be my worst self too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Great ideas – I think more alone time, healthier eating (and exercise) and more fun sound like just what I need too! By the way, Happy Birthday – I hope all your wishes come true

  3. Happy Birthday!!!! Sounds like a very nice day.
    (Don’t fret over the sugar binge – everyone slips. I think we do that to remind ourselves why we changed our diets…short attention spans?)
    Really great 3 wishes. Can’t wait to see where this year takes you

    • Thanks. It was the day I wanted. And every birthday should be that day. Whether it’s a big party or a quiet hike or staying in bed and watching movies. It’s your day. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yeah, I’m coming out of the sugar high. Reminds me why I eat better most of the time. Hoping this year takes me better places. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. davidprosser says:

    A belated Penblwydd Hapus Kourtney.I hope most if not all of your wishes come true.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  5. Gwen Stephens says:

    Birthdays are a great time to reevaluate your life and priorities, and it sounds as if the TLC of Kourtney has fallen to the wayside in the last few years. I can’t imagine the life of a full time writer/author. It sounds like the profession has begun to consume you. It’s so hard to find the right balance. I’m intrigued by the fact that you’re starting part time work — will you write up a post on that?

    • I agree. I tend to go through photo albums and tiptoe through memories and remember all I’ve done. I had a better work life balance when I worked on Wall Street. It’s easier to push back when you aren’t working solely for yourself. I always carved out time for fun and for relaxing. The income from writing is not enough to live on. Even with my very limited expenses. Health care and my cell phone are my biggest expenses. I don’t want to drain the remains of my savings.I will post about it once I get started. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. A belated Happy Birthday Kourtney and I love your idea of making wishes.. ๐Ÿ™‚ And love your chosen 3.. ๐Ÿ™‚ You made me stop to think about my wishes.. And as I had to really think.. I guess my wishes must more or less be fulfilled ๐Ÿ™‚ as I can not think of anything else, except to stay healthy and fitter as the old bones creek a bit now and again LOL.. Hugs Xxxx โค Sue

  7. Happy birthday Kourtney, glad to see you’re building in some fun and nurturing time – you need that in your busy life ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Carrie Rubin says:

    Happy belated birthday! I think your wishes make great sense, and I’m glad you’ll be taking more time for yourself and having more fun. Good luck with the new job too.

  9. I am right there with you on the commitment to having more fun. In fact I made that commitment myself recently. So let’s keep each other honest… schedule something fun regularly! (yes, these days, one does have to put it on the schedule ๐Ÿ™‚ )

  10. Aquileana says:

    Woot… I hope you have had a greta birthday dear Kourt โญ
    Guess what!?… Mine was on October 29th!… Happy coincidence, right?
    I love the points you have added for your bucket list of things to do.. I am with you regarding numbers #1 and #3…
    I hope you have a great day. Best wishes!, Aquileana ๐Ÿ˜›

  11. EllaDee says:

    Happy Birthday ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s good to take the opportunity to think about what we need to look after ourselves, and I like what you’ve come up with. All stuff that will nuture you and your creative work. Even the part time job with provide a foil for writing, promoting etc.
    The G.O. and I were just discussing last night that we’d never want to be 18 again… too much work to get to where we are now… and fun in my twenties… so much fun it was exhausting. When we have fun now, we enjoy it:)

    • LOL. I feel like fun was so much easier in my 20s. Now it’s work. Trying to make a plan with someone can be a monumental task. It was so easy to just hang out. I miss just hanging out.

  12. Mayumi-H says:

    The “taking time to be ourselves” theme seems to be a common one among my blog buddies, recently. I think maybe the universe is trying to tell us all that it’s okay to slow down and enjoy what we have. I’m glad to hear you’re going back to finding a balance for yourself, Kourtney, because I want to keep reading your work but I want you to enjoy it, too. A lot of that comes from knowing how much of it we need in our lives, in balance with everything else, to make us happy. Happy birthday to the bolder and better you! โค

    • There is this tremendous pressure to be on and be promoting all the time. It’s exhausting and the sales numbers don’t justify all the work. I think it’s about doing enough. And all the promoting takes away from my writing time. I need quiet and disconnecting to connect with my stories. I made my career the center of my world and then it became my world. It didn’t leave me much room for anything else. And it left me exhausted and frustrated. Balance is important. When something goes wrong you have to have something else to focus on. Aw thanks!

  13. diannegray says:

    Happy Birthday, Kourtney. Mine is coming up soon and my three wishes are 1. Return of my muse, 2. Good health, 3. Happy times ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. Lori D says:

    At my age, I’m just grateful that I made another year. Heh. Mine was a few weeks before yours, plus about 15 years. Happy Birthday, Kourtney. So glad you’ve vowed to take care of you. And do some things to laugh. I’ve made it a point to have one good laugh every day. If I don’t laugh by the end of the day, I put on one of my favorite comedies before bed and make sure I get in a laugh before I sleep.

    May you have optimum health and may blessings from this point forward in your life.

    • LOL. Lori lots of times that is the best we can hope for! Well happy belated birthday! I try to reassess and determine what’s working and what isn’t. I went through a debilitating back injury in 2008 and I can honestly say I had more fun that year than I did this year. Because I took the time to make fun a priority. That’s a great thing to do–I’m going to do that with my netflix. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I’m going to reach out more to my old friends and get a few good laughs in each week. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I hope the same for you! ๐Ÿ™‚ Hugs, K

  15. jmmcdowell says:

    Those are excellent birthday wishes! And I’d bet that taking some time for yourself and having fun will help your writing, too. I think some of our best creative moments arise when our brains are happily engaged in other activities. Best of wishes with the new position, too!

    • Thanks. That’s the plan and the hope. Unfortunately, this week I got slammed with proofing audiobook. So my offline time has been filled with reading 4 hours a day and listening to the audiobook simultaneously. I agree. Breaks are necessary. Thanks. I don’t have the details yet but I think I’m starting in 2 weeks. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  16. Happy birthday, Kourtney! I love that you’re giving yourself more you-time. If I were making birthday wishes today, I’d probably wish for more connectedness with my authentic self through meditation — put another way, to not suck at routine stillness. LOL I’m working on it! And the perks are starting to roll in.

    • Thanks August! That’s a great wish. It’s very hard to stay on top of everything. Right now it’s drafting, finalizing audiobook and working out. That’s what I commit to doing every day. And of course each day has lots of other tasks, but those are my three mainstays. ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad to hear the perks are rolling in!

  17. Happy birthday! I would echo the need for alone time. I crave it several times throughout the day. Not easy when you have a family to raise. I love your birthday resolutions. Good luck with your new job.

    • Thanks. Yeah, I definitely need to let myself take time away from everything and everyone. It’s the only way I can recharge. I can only imagine how hard that is. Thanks. I hope I do good with them!

Leave a Reply

