Listen, Teach, Travel!

 

P1020480

I’ve been offline a lot the past week. I wish I could say I was at that relaxing spot above. Nope.

I’ve been proofing my audiobook. It took about 16 hours to do it. The audiobook is only 11 hours long, but I have to listen to it and be reading the book line by line at the same time to make sure no sentences were missed or words changed. That the narrator used the right voice for the dialogue (used her Kai voice when Kai is speaking), that there were no weird background noises and such.

Anytime I noticed anything, I rewound and gave a second listen to make sure. Then I jotted down the chapter, the time stamp, and what the possible issue was.

I sent my list to my narrator/producer on Friday. She will take a listen and make corrections. Right now there’s something weird going on with the tracks and they are open to me and locked for her so I have to get help from ACX on that today.

Hoping to have that for sale in late November/early December on Amazon from Audible.com.

I’ve also been very busy keeping up my 1500 words/5 days a week schedule on Six Train’s sequel. I’m at 75,000 words right now. I should have a bad rough draft completed by the end of next week.

Then I need to take a couple weeks to go over the whole manuscript and make sure it flows decently.

I should have that done in mid-December.

Then I’m going to switch off to another project for a couple months and let that breathe so I can come back and tear it apart during revision in March.

I’m starting a part time job November 18th. It’s two nights a week teaching adults. My classes are English and Keyboarding.

Having one book isn’t enough to live on and I still don’t have my rights back on the other book. I’m trying the traditional route with DM, so that’s probably a while for anything to happen too.

I am going to be curtailing time online while I adjust to the new job. I’ll be here on my blog and on Facebook, but I will probably fall behind in my blog reading for a few weeks.

The day after I start the new job, I am leaving for Miami. I’m going to be in Miami Thursday afternoon. Meeting up with a college friend for dinner and doing the Readers’ Favorite cocktail events on Thursday and Friday night.

I’ll be at the Miami Book Fair on Friday and Saturday and the Readers’ Favorite International Book Awards Ceremony on Saturday to get my medal!

 

 

This entry was posted in Award, Self-publishing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Listen, Teach, Travel!

  1. Elle Knowles says:

    Busy, busy woman! Can’t wait for the Six Train sequel, but I suppose I’ll have to! 😉

    • Unfortunately, it takes multiple drafts and revisions to get the story where it needs to be. I won’t release something quick because it would be crappy. And I think my readers and the characters deserve a great novel. 🙂

  2. I find your comments about proofing your audiobook very interesting — I’d never considered it, but yeah, it would take a devilishly long time to properly go through and proof an audiobook, wouldn’t it? At least with the print copy you can mark it up, whereas with this … some sort of spreadsheet with the time stamps? Out of curiosity, are you paying your narrator up-front, or is it more a “percentage of royalties” situation?

    • Incredibly detail oriented work too. Listening for multiple things at the same time was exhausting. I had a print copy in my hand and made marks in it. Then I kept a notepad with a list of the chapter, time stamp, and issue I noticed. I typed them all into Word at the end. ACX only allows emails with a 3000 character limit (including spaces and paragraphing) for feedback. You can’t send attachments so an Excel spreadsheet wouldn’t have worked. No, I don’t have that kind of money. It’s 3-5k to pay a narrator upfront. More than it cost to create the paperback and ebook. We opted for a royalty share. ACX allows for both.

      • See, I was thinking of doing an audiobook at some point, but that sounds exhausting! Good on you for your commitment to quality — other writers wouldn’t even bother to proof the files. I’m actually really surprised that there are people willing to narrate an entire book for royalties — if the book doesn’t do well, it wouldn’t be worth it at all! I guess some people like the gamble. Not to say your book won’t be a bestseller! Just that some books definitely don’t end up that way 😀

        • You can also narrate it yourself but I felt the learning curve and the equipment needed were too much. I proof everything. Mistakes slip in all the time everywhere. 🙂 Yeah, I think they strike a balance between royalty splits and upfront payment. If a book takes off or even sells relatively well, a royalty split is much better compensation for them. Risk/reward principle at work right there.

  3. davidprosser says:

    You’re never still for a minute girl. As my Nan would have said “You got ants in your pants?”

  4. Carrie Rubin says:

    Thanks for explaining a bit about an audio book’s inception. Interesting to know in case I ever go that route. Best of luck on the new job. Sounds like great hours. And have fun in Miami! I know I did. 🙂 (By the way, do you know about Readers Favorite monthly book give aways? It’s a nice way to have another online presence for your book. Here’s the link: https://readersfavorite.com/book-giveaway).

    • I just approved it today. Should be on sale by early December! Thanks. I don’t want to stop being a full time writer, but I do need money to cover insurance and the cell phone. 🙂 Aw thanks. I just started packing. Thanks. I’ll look into that! 🙂

  5. Congratulations on the soon to be publication of the audiobook and all your work on the sequel. I think I’d find proofing an audiobook really hard – I don’t take things in so well listening to them and I know, as a librarian, how long audiobooks can be, so I’m in awe of you doing that 🙂

    • Thanks Andrea. I have trouble listening. But for some reason listening and following along on the page, it was easy to find missed or added words or wrong characterizations. My mind would catch something and make me relisten. It was a ton of work. But hopefully we put out a near perfect audiobooks. The narrator has a great voice. She really captured the heart of the book. 🙂

  6. EllaDee says:

    Life is never dull for you, and you are so generous with your experiences 🙂 Like the other commenters, I had no idea the work behind an audio book. Makes sense of course. I can’t read more than a couple of sentences these days without stumbling or pausing. Out of practice… at school we did it regularly and I was much more fluent 🙂

    • I do my best to document the writer journey here. It’s a lot of work. I didn’t do the narrating, but found a narrator via ACX. She’s a voice actor in LA and did a terrific job. It would have taken way too much time for me to get the nuances of narrating an audiobook. 🙂

  7. diannegray says:

    Best of luck with the audio book. I got tired just reading about what you’re doing and what’s coming up! 😉

  8. Lori D says:

    I was very impressed with how you deciphered between the mind reading and the pov’s in Six Train. You made it very clear which was which, and I can’t imagine trying to do that myself. So, I can see why the audio version has to be just right. Sounds like you’ve got a lot going on. Will miss you in the blogging world, but keep up the good work.

    • Thanks. Yes, it was a lot of revision to get that right. 🙂 My narrator had to tackle that challenge in the audiobook. It never stops. I knock one project off my to do list and another appears. Aw thank. I’ll do my best to pop in on blogs, but I just wanted to let people know why I have to cut back for a bit.

  9. Kourtney, I imagine that to be extremely tedious! I did a video animation once, and your work on this audio reminds me of that! Hours and hours!

  10. Mayumi-H says:

    You continue to amaze me with how busy you keep your life, Kourtney. I’m still bummed over your imprint issues, but it’s great to hear that you are keeping up with all of your different schedules of work and events. The part-time teaching sounds like it could be a neat new opportunity. I hope you get some great students!

    • Thanks Mayumi. I feel like if I don’t stay on top of everything, I’ll lose momentum everywhere. Me too. That’s a tough one to deal with. It still rattles me. I think it’s a good fit for my skills and it gives me a little income and the freedom to keep promoting my book and writing. 🙂 Me too!

  11. Gwen Stephens says:

    Great update, Kourtney!.Lots of stuff going on. Congratulations on the new job – is it at a community college or an adult learning center? How did you get something like that? I’m intrigued. I’m sure you’ll be posting plenty of FB updates from sunny, warm Miami. The perfect time of year to go, when the cold is just starting to rev up and the long depressing winter lies ahead. I’ll be looking for the pictures!

    • Thanks Gwen! It’s an adult education program. They earn certificates. A friend of mine worked there and knew about an opening for a teacher. LOL. Yes, I’ll go picture happy in Miami. Especially with the book fair. It’s my final big trip for Six Train. Then it’s local and regional promoting while I work on my writing. 🙂

  12. jmmcdowell says:

    Your to-do lists are enough to leave me exhausted just from the thought of them! 🙂 The part-time job sounds like a manageable schedule and might also be good for the creative side of your mind. Doing something new can stimulate creativity in so many ways. Have a wonderful time in Miami!

    • LOL. I have been go go go so much lately. I’m really looking forward to December. It’s a slower month. I think it will be good to get out and earn some consistent cash flow. Thanks. I’m excited about Miami. Last big trip for a long time. 🙂

  13. Arlene says:

    Great time to be headed to Miami, with the chill coming to CT. Enjoy the weathers and the award ceremony! That’s pretty exciting. Bring back some sun and warmth if you can 🙂

    So happy to hear about your updates on the sequel. So looking forward to it!! Happy / safe travels!

    • I can’t believe I woke up to snow this morning. Thanks. I’m really excited to get a medal. Of course, I’m stressing over what to wear for that important photo. The sequel is coming along well. I’m on schedule. Yay! Thanks!

  14. Aquileana says:

    Excellent to read that you are almost finished with the new book… I can see that the audiobook and revision take time… But, you’ll get over them soon and the results will be amazing!…
    Also great to know that you’ll be teaching to adults… That’s something very rewarding and you;ll get extra money too… So it is worth it….
    I hope you also have a good time in Miami and I wish you luck there and with all your projects ahead dear Kourt.
    All the best to you, Aquileana 😀

  15. How exciting!!! My big dream is to someday have one of my books go to audio, but I didn’t realize you had to go through and proof it like that. That sounds even harder than copyedits, which are a grueling process in themselves!

    • Thanks. You can rely on the the producer’s editor, but I always proof everything before it goes out. It is much harder than copyediting. But I found I caught things more easily because I was listening and reading at the same time. 🙂

  16. TBM says:

    You are busy. I’ve been thinking of using ACX for my books. Curious to see how it works out for you. Best of luck with everything!

  17. Wow, a lot of work for audiobooks. I’m sure you’ll let us know if it was worth it! Have fun with your new job. I teach kids part-time. I don’t know if I could teach adults. Someone told me I should try to teach creative writing, but I don’t know. I’m such an introvert. With kids it’s different. They bring out the kid in me. 😉

    • Lol. You’ll have to define worth it. From a business perspective or from a personal accomplishment perspective. The latter for sure, but the former is unlikely. 🙂 lol. I actually feel the opposite. I don’t think I could work with kids. Adults are so much easier to communicate with. 🙂

Leave a Reply

