Readers’ Favorite International Book Awards in Miami

On Thursday night, I landed in Miami and met up with a Georgetown friend for dinner. The best steak at Graziano’s. We caught up for a few hours. I’m so glad we did. Great way to start my time in Miami!

Friday, I went to the book fair, but it was raining and windy. I met Lorrie and Wally and we walked around for a bit together. I tried to walk around until the rain went horizontal and then I called it a day.

20141122_110301

Saturday at Theย Readers’ Favorite Tent at the Miami Book Fair. The Six Train to Wisconsin was on display and for sale there!

20141122_110404

A shot of some of the award-winning books.

20141122_112728

The Miami Book Fair.

20141122_133853

Driving out to Miami Beach.

20141122_135450

Weird birds we encountered on the drive.

20141122_141055

Gorgeous house under construction.

20141122_191809

The Readers’ Favorite Award Ceremony. Loud music boomed. Everyone was so excited. I stayed in my seat and tried not to freak out about going on stage. Usually, I’d rather have dental work done than walk the stage in front of a huge group of people. Even awesome people that were my peers.

Dad asked me to get up on stage for a trial run before the ceremony. My answer: No! I’m doing it once, so be ready.

20141122_195702

Three award-winning paranormal authors in YA and Adult (Ronnie Stich, Elizabeth Kirke & me). We all coincidentally sat in a cluster. Woo-woo.

20141122_200721

Kelvin Kwa and I got to chat the night before at a mixer. He’s written an amazing sci-fi techno thriller.

20141122_192938

Getting the award was the most nerve-wracking part. Walk across the stage, remove glasses, kneel down, flip my hair out, pose with book and award medal and the President of Readers’ Favorite, Debra Gaynor, and get off the stage without falling.

20141122_201219

Me on stage for our second go around. Dad was not so ready the first time. ๐Ÿ˜‰

20141122_201400

Verna Clay and me. Her book covers are gorgeous and she’s awesome to hang out with too!

20141122_202000

Dad accidentally videoed this the first time and it included me on my side when he flipped the camera. We needed a do-over here too. So we went back after the ceremony. And after I’d had a drink.

20141122_202237Lorrie Farrelly and I had a blast hanging out. Her husband Wally is a great book trailer creator. We met at the Readers’ Favorite tent on Friday and walked around the book fair. Then we hung out at a mixer on Friday. But it wasn’t until the award ceremony on Saturday that we realized we both won in the paranormal category for adults!

****

I sold 32 books in November. Nine were audiobooks!

****

I’m going to take a blog holiday for the holidays. So there won’t be any new post until January 5, 2015. I’ll try to catch up on a little blog reading and commenting on other blogs during that time.

Hope everyone has a happy holiday and see you in the New Year!

This entry was posted in Award, book festival and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Readers’ Favorite International Book Awards in Miami

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    Fun to hear about your experience. You were more social there than I was. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I had no idea it rained so much in Miami until I was there. Like Seattle, I just started carrying an umbrella everywhere.

    • I tried, but it’s really hard to walk up to a group of people and break into their conversation. People were very nice but I only managed it 5 or 6 times before I felt like I’d hit my socializing wall. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Me neither! I went there once in February and it was great weather. The rain wasn’t so bad, it was the driving wind that made it horizontal and ruined my one free day in town. Ah well.

  2. Wonderful Kourtney… I always love your travels and congratulations upon the award.. It looked to be super day.. xxx Enjoy your week.. Hugs Sue

  3. You go, girl! Woo woo is right!

  4. EllaDee says:

    I hope you think it was way super cool to go to Miami to not only attend but win a book award… because it is. Well done and congratulations. Enjoy your break and the festive season ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Lori D says:

    I remember when you said you won this and were going to be in Florida. It all sounds very exciting to me. Congratulations.

  6. jmmcdowell says:

    Looks like a great time, Kourtneyโ€”even if we introverts need massive down time after such a to-do! ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy your blogging break and the holidays!

    • Thanks JM! I’d rather take a final or write a 30 page paper than socialize that much. ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s funny what drains the batteries of introverts. Thanks. Hope you have an awesome holiday too!

  7. Mayumi-H says:

    You look lovely here, Kourtney. So glad you got to enjoy Miami and the book awards. โค See you when you get back!

    • Aw thank you! I actually got that dress at Kohl’s marked down from $120 to $8. Insane! I try to pack as much into those trips as I can. Business and pleasure. ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a wonderful holiday season and a great New Year! See you in 2015. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. K. Lyn Wurth says:

    Kourtney, thanks for sharing your experiences, and congratulations again! I’m so happy for your success. Have a great holiday season, and I’ll catch you again in the New Year!

  9. Chris Edgar says:

    It sounds like you are creating a lot of opportunities for your work to be seen and that it’s given you the opportunity to meet lots of interesting people who can potentially help you on your journey — it’s inspiring to see. Happy holidays.

  10. Aquileana says:

    Way to go Kourt! โค I am super happy for you… Bring on the Miami Vibes!… I love your post, my talented writer friend. Congratulations and all the very best for 2015 โญ Aquileana ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. (how did I miss this post? Oh, well last month was serious overload…little better now…but cheers even if late!)
    I giggled over you and JM talking about how draining all the socializing is – it’s so true! Massive restorative time needed!
    Looks like you did it with style and grace. So very very cool (and your parents are so proud, right?)
    Hope your Christmas was bright and merry – ant this “In-Between Week” full of rest and fun ( and those thing can too go together!) See ya’ next year!

    • Last month was jam packed. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks! It really is for me. I love getting to know someone one on one, but networking and walking up to strangers and pretending I’m comfortable, well, that’s an Oscar worthy performance for me. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Aw, I did my best. Dad and Mom are very proud and supportive. Today someone asked mom if she was “Kourtney Heintz’s” mom? She was tickled pink. Aw thank you. I actually was on deadline all month between Six Train and The Girl–I worked Xmas eve and Xmas day. But I got my work done for the editor so yay! This week I get a few days break finally. A nice way to start off the new year. Hope you have a restful and relaxing holiday!

  12. Wishing you a Very Happy and successful New Year Kourtney.. and along with it sending blessings for abundance in Health and Happiness..
    Sue xox

Leave a Reply

