Chocolate Expo, Sesquicentennial Planning, and an Killer Nashville Profile

IMG_8738

On February 1st, the Chocolate Lovers’ Spring Expo is happening. It’s a really amazing event to benefit Easter Seals. For $25, you can walk around and sample chocolates and desserts from 11:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. There will also be vendors selling Valentine’s Day related gifts.

I will be there selling signed copies of my award-winning novel, The Six Train to Wisconsin, and original photography from the novel. Because chocolate, wine and a great love story go so well together on Valentine’s Day.

It’s at the Crowne Plaza Hotel at 1284 Strongtown Road in Southbury, CT.

Hope to make some sales and support a great cause.

***

Campus photos courtesy of: http://chasecollegiate.smugmug.com/Campus-Pictures/

I attended a planning meeting for my prep school’s sesquicentennial. It’s been a part of the Waterbury, CT landscape for 150 years. The school’s name has changed from St. Margaret’s School and McTernan School (separate schools for girls and boys) to St. Margaret’s McTernan (which I attended) and is now Chase Collegiate.

The alumni at the meeting were amazing to meet. All really focused on making this event an unforgettable celebration. I ended up sitting with alumni from the McTernan School and St. Margaret’s School. They immediately made me feel at home.

Since I moved back to CT, I’ve gone back to campus a few times for events and every time I’m there, I almost expect to run into the ghost of me at 17. It’s been 20 years since I graduated and I can’t believe how wonderful it is to go back and see that some things stand the test of time.

I’ve been helping out with the alumni author program at the school and plan to help out with the sesquicentennial too.

***

Killer Nashville is my all time favorite conference and the only one I have attended twice and plan to be at again this year. It’s a mystery/thriller/suspense regional conference that is held from October 29-November 1 in Nashville.

It has everything you could possibly want in a conference–pitch sessions, manuscript & query critiques, writing workshops, forensic workshops, awards, a murder scene for you to hone your detecting skills, and the friendliest people ever.

They reached out to me to do an attending author profile for their newsletter!  Here’s a screenshot of the profile!

Screen Shot 2015-01-24 at 9.35.10 AM

This entry was posted in author appearance, Conferences, Personal, Promotion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Chocolate Expo, Sesquicentennial Planning, and an Killer Nashville Profile

  1. Now the chocolate expo sounds a great venue… and I visited the photo’s of the Campus, And what a lovely building and an honour too to do a profile for their newsletter..
    Brilliant Kourtney 🙂

  2. More exciting opportunities Kourtney. Good call to get a place at the chocolate expo 🙂

  3. TBM says:

    Chocolate expo! Brilliant idea. I wonder how much I could eat. Best of luck with sales!

  4. Carrie Rubin says:

    Chocolate and books–what a perfect combination! Good luck with it. Although I know you’ve revamped your lifestyle, you’ll have to sample a dessert or two. It would be rude not to, right? 😉

  5. Lori D says:

    I want the chocolate and wine expo to be here. 😉 Sounds like a lot of fun things on your schedule.

  6. Sheila says:

    I can’t think of anything better than books, chocolate and wine! I hope some of this snow will be melted by then so you’ll be able to make it out there.

  7. EllaDee says:

    All those events sound great, something to get your teeth into, in various ways! literally (in moderation of course) and figuratively. It’s wonderful that as a writer, how you make opportunities to both create interests for yourself and promote.

  8. jmmcdowell says:

    I guess Killer Chocolate wouldn’t be the best name for the first event, but it might be the most accurate. 🙂 But what a way to go!

    Sounds like you’re already lining up some great appearances for the year!

    • I think it might be a fun name, but it might scare some folks off! LOL. I’m doing my best. Most events have to be lined up months ahead of time. 🙂 I’ve got a few others I’m working on too.

  9. I wish I wrote suspense and crime. Killer Nashville sounds awesome. I like conferences that are hands-on like that, as I’m not very good at sitting down for a couple of hours and taking notes!

    • It’s great for anyone in the thriller/suspense/mystery genre. I’ve met several cozy mystery authors there over the years.:) It’s got an awesome mix of socializing, detecting, and workshops and panels. Something for everyone. And the pitching sessions are really great too!

  10. Mayumi-H says:

    Maybe you’ve already left for that excellent-sounding Chocolate Expo, Kourtney. If so, hope you have a splendidly sweet time!

    I’ve heard of the Killer Nashville conference – sounds like a great place to make connections across the board of the industry. Maybe you’ll be able to share details of the next big book there, too!

    • LOL. It’s about 30 minutes from my house, so it’s an easy Sunday morning drive to that event! It’s an awesome conference so many great writers there. I’ve made some really close friends and even found a mentor there. Yes, I will definitely have more news to share on that in February. 🙂

  11. We have a similar chocolate event here although no authors go that I know of. Now you have me thinking! I hope you have a great time on the 1st there 🙂

  12. Lisa Duquette says:

    I attended the chocolate expo this past weekend and had the chance to meet you. I decided to purchase your book there. Just wanted to let you know I enjoyed reading it. Only took two days to read. I didn’t want to put it down. Thank you. I love finding new authors. Can’t wait for your next book.

    • Hi Lisa! Thank you so much for purchasing the book! There were so many amazing items and treats for sale there–I really appreciate you buying my book. And reading it so fast. I love hearing that. Totally made my day. Would you like me to add you to my mailing list for new releases? I’ll only email you when a new release comes out. 🙂

      • Lisa Duquette says:

        Yes, please add me to your mailing list. My daughter now has the book and she is enjoying it also.

        • Will do! Oh that’s wonderful to hear. Thank you! 🙂 If you are on Amazon or Goodreads and have a few minutes, could you please leave a short review of the book? Just a couple sentences really helps with sales.

Leave a Reply

