Holiday Blog Hiatus

IMG_1902I hope everyone had a terrific Thanksgiving. Mine was filled with silly moments including how many Eugenes are in my family (we’re Italian on Mom’s side) and Grandma H announcing my father only had 10 years left to live.

The food was amazing! But all those carbs swelled my stomach up majorly. I am just starting to feel my ribs again.

My buddy Brett came in from NYC and we got to watch Killer Mermaid and Devil. We love a bad horror movie.

The best takeaway from Devil–if the devil is nearby, when you drop a piece of toast with jam on it, it will always land jam side down. Also children will hit their heads on tables. So there’s your litmus test. Have toast and jam or a small child on hand at all times.

I’m finally going to clean my room. Woohoo. It’s been about two months since the last time I did it. Last week, I started with the drawers and the shelves for clothes. This week dust and vacuum.

I’ve sent Six Train’s sequel off to my editor for developmental editing.

I’m doing a self study writing workshop in December with Margie Lawson. I’ve done two of them and I can’t wait to do this one. It’s part of my preparation for a 4 day writing boot camp with her in July 2016.

The book tour for The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts is almost wrapped up, so it’s the perfect time to take a break from blogging.

My blog hiatus starts December 5. I’ll be back here on the blog January 5, 2016. Until then I’ll be popping in on Facebook and Twitter a few times a week.

I hope everyone has a wonderful holiday season. I look forward to catching up in the new year!

 

This entry was posted in book tour, Personal, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Holiday Blog Hiatus

  1. Elle Knowles says:

    A blog hiatus sounds great! Why didn’t I think of that? Have a wonderful time rejuvenating. Waiting impatiently on your sequel. ~Elle

    • I’ve seen a few blog buddies do it over the years and taken a few weeks when I could. Summer and winter seem to see a lull in blog activity so I figured December would be the best time to step away. Aw thank you. I’ve been working hard on it this year and last year. And into next year. 😉 Hugs.

  2. Enjoy your break and the holidays, Kourtney!

  3. Carrie Rubin says:

    Enjoy your hiatus. I have no doubt you’ll be equally busy with something else!

  4. EllaDee says:

    Wishing you all the best for the festive season, blogging hiatus and an amazing 2016.
    I’m around online as usual until the 14th, then for a while it will be in the laps of the Telco gods. I’ve put in an order for [overpriced] internet infrastructure at Taylors Arm… it will be interesting to see how long and how good it is.

  5. davidprosser says:

    Have a Great Break Kourtney and a wonderful Holiday season. Just 6 weeks to go to the big day
    ( 65 years old !!!!!),or 3 weeks to Christmas.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  6. Mayumi-H says:

    Enjoy the blog hiatus, Kourtney! You have plenty to do already, but hopefully you can enjoy the time off kicking back a bit with family and friends. I look forward to news of your adventures when you come back! ❤

    • Thanks Mayumi. LOL, always a long to do list, but getting away from promoting so hard core and getting back to what I love most helps a ton. I started my writing workshop yesterday and remembered how fun writing can be. 🙂 I’ll try to take notes–I’m sure Xmas will be full of Grandma H moments. Hugs!

  7. diannegray says:

    Have a wonderful, happy and safe break filled with love, Kourtney xxxx

  8. jmmcdowell says:

    Great minds think alike on the blogging hiatus! 😉 You’ve accomplished so many things this year, Kourtney, and I know I’m not alone in looking forward to your return in 2016. Have a wonderful holiday season, and all the best for next year!

    • LOL. So true. 😉 Aw thank you. I’m hoping to come back a little less frazzled. I really need some time to myself. I hope you have a great holiday season and I can’t wait to see your posts again in 2016!

  9. Sheila says:

    Hope you have a wonderful break and holiday season. You deserve it! Even your break sounds busy though. Your Grandma H announcement made me laugh. I love family gatherings like that!

  10. Wishing you the best jingle Christmas ever. (And don’t mess with Granny H!) Enjoy all that’s out there! See you next year.

  11. Aquileana says:

    Hi Kourt, I am italian from my dad´s side… way to go… Don´t you just love pasta… ha 😀
    anyhow… Good to read your updates… I wish you luck with the bedroom cleaning process… I will have to organize all my clothes as well as I am quite messy lately—- you are not alone, nor I am… 🙂
    I hope that you enjoy your break… I´ll check out your twitter feed if you are off until next year… love and best wishes. Aquileana 💫

    • How cool. My mom is 1/2 Italian and there is lots of pasta at the holidays and family dinners. Thanks. It’s really coming along. I got all the dusting done and vacuuming. Now I’m thinking about reorganizing the closet. Now that the big book promo push is over, I can finally take care of personal stuff again. I am terrible at maintaining the order. But I love creating it for a little while. I hope you have a great break too. I’m more active on FB, but I do tweet from time to time too. Hugs!

      Kourtney

  12. Great time of year to take off from the blog. I just took time off (unexpectedly), so I feel like I really shouldn’t take yet another month. I might just slow it down though! 🙂

    Have a wonderful break and looking forward to seeing you in 2016!

    • After 5 years of blogging, I’ve noticed the seasonal dips in summer and winter. I figured might as well take advantage of them. Sometimes real life requires step aways. At least you’ll have less blog reading this December. 🙂 Have a great holiday. See you in 2016.

  13. Gwen Stephens says:

    Glad to hear you’re taking a much-deserved blogging break! It’s much deserved, and you’ve got lots to be thankful this year. What a whirlwind! Here’s hoping 2016 holds just as much promise. See you around on FB ❤

    • Thanks. Between the blog tour and normal blog posts, I’m blogged out. 🙂 It was a crazy year. It’s nice to have a little time to take care of me things like cleaning my room, reorganizing my dresser, and getting the dogs teeth cleaned. 😉 See you on FB. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

