Working Hard for a Weekend

IMG_2513

Right now my novel is like a cone around my head. It’s all I see. It’s all I can think about. It’s my entire world.

But my best friend’s birthday is coming up in March. And I am going to take that weekend off and spend it with him. Which means I’m going to be working hard the next few weeks for that weekend.

We’re going to spend it in the city, discovering his new neighborhood. I’m excited. We’ve always been great co-explorers. We have a history of stumbling on the coolest things together. Of having adventures no one else could dream up.

Mind you, I’m not always writing. I’m doing laundry, taking care of my dog, cooking, sleeping, working out, teaching, reading, etc. Real life is still happening.ย But chore time also happens to be when my mind is secretly solving story problems. I need that alone time every day.

What are you working hard for? A trip? A birthday?

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Personal, revision, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Working Hard for a Weekend

  1. I feel your pain, Kourtney.Currently I’m working on line/copy edits…stress!

  2. That’s the perfect comparison with the dog. Funny post about a writer’s mind.
    (Get that done so you can have fun with no nagging thoughts!)

    • It’s really how it feels sometimes. ๐Ÿ™‚ I like to set up little treats for myself while I’m working. I budgeted in this time for my friend and so now it keeps me focused on getting things done to get there.

  3. Ally Bean says:

    Good question. I’m working hard for a vacation. Somewhere totally absorbing that takes me away from my daily obligations and worries. Somewhere with sunshine, for instance.

    • Oh nice. Any place in particular? My friend loves the Caribbean. I love San Diego for beaches. I’ve heard South Carolina is gorgeous. Hawaii is on my list of dream trips. Haven’t gotten there yet.

      • Ally Bean says:

        No place in particular. Never been to the Caribbean, but have been to San Diego– which was lovely. We went to Hawaii a long time ago, so maybe it’s time to re-visit the state. Just to make sure it’s still wonderful. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        • I haven’t been to the Caribbean either. San Diego was my home for 2 years. Sometimes I miss it terribly. The beaches. The palm trees. The Mexican food. I’m jealous–and yes you definitely need to check that out! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Carrie Rubin says:

    I want to throw myself into my third draft, because I’m eager to get it into beta readers’ hands. But I’m out of town right now for an unexpected family development, so we’ll see how quickly I get through it. There’s always something, isn’t there? We just have to slip in our work in the moments we can.

  5. Dearest Kourtney.. I am delighted to hear you will down tools and empty your head for a while and take a breather.. You need to do that more often.. especially after being ill again too.. Too Much stress! is not a good thing.. Even if it is self induced lol

    It will do you good to get away with your friend for the weekend.. and Light up the town for a while.. You will come back refreshed and full of ideas and solutions ๐Ÿ™‚ and away you will go again..

    Look after YOU my friend.. Hugs Sue xx

    • I try to take a few days between each round of edits. It’s really about me scheduling the breaks and making it work on a deadline. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m seeing the pattern to me getting sick is lots of stress + a couple nights of very limited sleep. I’m trying to make sure I get plenty of sleep and exercise each day to combat the stress.

      I’m looking forward to seeing my friend. We had a blast in January when I visited him last. We made a pledge to get more friend time in this year.

      Thanks Sue! Excellent point. Hugs!

  6. Great post. I’m working hard at my day job so I can set myself up for what I publicly call ‘retirement’ in about ten years, but privately refer to as the start of my full-time writing career. In the meantime, writing is my side job that I’m extremely passionate about.

  7. I’m working hard on revisions too Kourtney – nearly there with the first stab at it and feeling good about it. Good luck with yours and enjoy that weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Andrea it’s good to know I’m not alone in it. Yay that’s a great sign. Usually I begin overwhelmed and distraught and uncertain. At some point toward the end it seems to feel better. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m in my second round of editorial revisions–still polishing up scenes. Aw thank you. Yes. I figured out a way to work around my teaching schedule and weekend so I’m still going to be a couple days ahead of schedule. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. jmmcdowell says:

    I’m working hard to keep up with deadlines and getting out of the February Funk. ๐Ÿ™‚ My fingers are crossed that March will see my mental energy levels rising. Enjoy that break when it comes!

    • JM, it’s way harder when you have a full time demanding career and are still settling into a new house and have a husband. None of those are things you can neglect. I am amazed by all you do every week. February can be a tough slog. I hope March will be better. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hugs! Thanks. I’m very excited for it. So far dimsum and Korean food are planned for meals. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Mayumi-H says:

    You seem to be a solid deadline worker, Kourtney: not a wait-to-the-last-minute procrastinator, but one of those people who sets end dates for yourself to make sure you keep up a steady pace throughout. It can be hard to plan yourself some necessary downtime when you want to keep going, though, so it’s good to hear you’re taking a break to decompress with a friend. Exploring a new neighborhood sounds like a fun (controlled) adventure!

    Spring is usually a big production season at my office, so I’m working hard on filming and editing in the weeks leading up to a short holiday in London coming up in April. I do most of my office work alone, so I’m used to that feeling through the day, and I have a decent daily commute that lets me write/edit/think about story, but I realized the other day that this upcoming holiday will be the first weekend I’ll have to myself in eleven years. I’m definitely going to spend a lot of it writing!

    • LOL. Years of management consulting and auditing. I can’t exceed a deadline. I just can’t. There always more work to be done. Yesterday I finished writing and I had to make a list of books being donated to a charity auction I’m helping out with. Then I had to work on a short story for an anthology I just got invited to submit to. ๐Ÿ˜‰ It never ever stops. I do try to have tea time and work out time every day. Just an hour and a half of solid me time. But those days of pure fun are every two months or so. We’ve been best friends for 16 years and met in college. 20 years knowing each other so when we hang out it’s pure fun.

      Wow that a great way to end your busy season. Oh wow. That’s a long time without a real vacation. You definitely deserve this one. Hope you have lots of fun and the writing goes productively too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. carlamcgill says:

    It sounds so appealing to be immersed in a project. I am hopping from task to task, but I find myself daydreaming about that kind of immersion. I hope you have a wonderful adventure with your friend!

    • It’s the only way I can do major edits. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have to stay with that story day in and day out until that round of revisions is done. I am doing marketing and promo tasks on the side and planning out the rest of the year project wise, but I’m not actively writing another book. I wish I could compartmentalize and be able to jump from book to book in the same week. Thanks. We’ve be besties for this entire century. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Pete Denton says:

    I’ve just been off the last week first time this year. Celebrated a birthday and hoped to get down to some serious editing and blogging. Not quite happened until today when I’ve been visiting blogs.

    Small steps ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope you enjoyed the adventures

    • Happy Birthday! As long as you are getting some of it done, that’s great! Sometimes I have blog reading on my to do list for a week before I get to it. Thanks. I’m excited. My friend and I always have fun and adventure finds us no matter what we are doing. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

