The Devil Was in My Dog

000_3805

During the first six months of our lives together, I was fairly certain the Devil was in my dog. Hard to believe, right? You look at that adorable face and you think what could he possibly do?

I used to work very long days at the office. 12 hour days. So I would keep him gated in my kitchen all day.

He had water and a snack. He had a wee wee pad. He had that nice dog bed. He had toys. I’d leave the tv on so he had noise and heard voices. I did everything I could to make him comfortable.

But every day when I came home from work, he’d let me know how unhappy he had been.

I can remember dreading coming home. Because I knew at least 45 minutes of cleaning was waiting for me.

When I got to my kitchen this is what I saw.

He had shredded the wee wee pad, pissed on the floor, and flipped his bed into the pee so it was soaked in urine.

That wasn’t the worst part.

Then he’d pooped on the floor and danced on it so that it was cemented into the tile and grout work.

He wasn’t done yet.

Somehow he had managed to step in the fresh poo and then wipe his paw down my white cabinets.

And this was everyday that I went to work that this happened.

There were times I fantasized about staying in a hotel so I couldn’t face this cleanup.

Clearly he was lonely, but there wasn’t much I could do about it. I thought about getting a dog walker to break up his day. Then I hurt my back and was home with him for six months. He turned into an angel baby. After that, I got a job closer to home and came home every day for lunch. From then on I had the best dog in the world.

 

IMG_0060

***

Upcoming Kindle Sale Days

 The Six Train to Wisconsin will be free on Kindle on March 15-17 and March 23. It’s a limited time promo thing so mark you calendar. I’ll tweet reminders that day too!

The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts will be 99 cents on Kindle on March 29.

This entry was posted in Personal, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The Devil Was in My Dog

  1. I just can’t believe that sweet little dog was capable of such horrible acts, Kourtney. 🙂 Actually, I can. Dogs, just like children, will act out when they’re not getting the proper attention. What breed is your dog? That face is just adorable!

  2. Carrie Rubin says:

    He’s probably on cloud nine to have you working as a writer now. He has a lot more access to you!

  3. K. Lyn Wurth says:

    Angel baby, except now he’s taken to smoking cigars in the house . . . 😉

  4. Lori says:

    Ha. That cigar toy made me LOL. 😀

  5. carlamcgill says:

    So happy for you both that you get to spend more time together!

  6. Oh my goodness, how could you stand it! I guess when they’re as cute as he is, you grit your teeth and bear it. Glad he has more “mama” time now!

    • I can remember sitting at work and dreading how close I was to going home. I seriously considered getting a hotel a few nights. I just couldn’t bear to face the horrors he’d created in my kitchen. Those first six months were the worst.

  7. jmmcdowell says:

    I should show this to one of my colleagues—she and her fiancé recently adopted a rescue puppy and face a similar situation every day! But her puppy is probably about five times as big as Emerson was! Dogs are social animals, and they let us know when their social lives aren’t what they should be! 🙂

    • It’s really hard to deal with. OMG, I couldn’t deal with a big dog doing this. That’s another level of destruction. It might be worth getting a dog walker to break up the day for the dog if neither of them can get home on lunch breaks. 🙂

  8. Just took him a while to train you – or get the message translated properly. What a cutie.

  9. Aww.. such a cute Looking little dog that looks like butter wouldn’t melt in his mouth… He was just lonely and wanted you to notice him.. 😉 So pleased he is now a little Angel 🙂

    Have a wonderful weekend dear Kourtney.. sending lots of love your way xxx
    Sue ❤

  10. Mayumi-H says:

    Glad to hear you managed to come to an understanding with Emerson, Kourtney. Dogs (all domesticated pets, really) crave attention and interaction as much as humans do. While the symptoms were problematic, it’s good to know that he really just wanted to be with you, a companion more than a simple guard dog, rather than having any true behavioral issues.

    Our pets are in tune with us, and it’s always best for us and them when we get to spend time bonding. You’ve got a true friend for life with Emerson. 🙂

    • It’s been 11 years since those kitchen nightmares. Now we get each other completely, but back then I really thought he hated me. 😉 He’s been there there through every single back injury and all the months of pain. We bonded deeply. Now I can laugh about the bed being tossed in urine. 😉

  11. I’m glad you found a way to spend more time with him Kourtney so hopefully your both a lot happier 🙂

  12. Aquileana says:

    `Clearly he was lonely, but there wasn’t much I could do about it´…
    .Surely you would not have been able to anything…. unless until being back at home… ha—- 😁 😆
    Epic story… I think he just loves you, mind you…
    Happy weekend, dear Kourt… and happy Easter, if you celebrate it… Aquileana 😘

    • At the time I thought he was trying to drive me insane, but now I look back and laugh about the worst roommate I ever had becoming my best buddy. 🙂 Have a great weekend. Happy Easter to you too!

  13. Haha, what a cutie. It’s almost hard to believe he did those things!

  14. Pete Denton says:

    We’ve had cats that had a similar attitude to being left alone!

    Good that he settled down. He definitely looks worth it.

    • It’s so hard. Luckily, my schedule changed to suit his needs for a few years. 🙂 Completely worth it. He’s my best friend. We still argue but I can’t imagine a day without him.

Leave a Reply

