Are you the protagonist or antagonist?

I’m a bit under the weather so I thought I’d repost an old blog post on characters. Hope you enjoy it!

Kourtney Heintz's Journal

As I develop characters and decide on who is the protagonist and antagonist in my story, I realize real life is not nearly that simple. Sure in my life story I’m the protagonist. But in someone else’s story, I may be the antagonist.

Many times, I’ve been the sidekick. Even, an ancillary character that fills in the background. And the character I portray in other people’s lives is very different from the character I am in my own story.

Which randomly brings to mind this Klimt painting. Each character is drawn relative to the other. If you remove one, the others lose their positions. And I think that is what makes storytelling so interesting. Everyone’s role is defined by the others. Remove one person from the picture and everything shifts.

What got me thinking so deeply about this? My online Writer’s Digest class. We had to describe our protagonist and…

View original post 190 more words

This entry was posted in Ramblings, wrtiting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Are you the protagonist or antagonist?

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    Hope you feel better soon. You’ve had your share of illness recently.

  2. I hope you’re feeling better soon, Kourtney!

  3. Interesting thoughts Kourtney – hoping you get better soon.

  4. Pete Denton says:

    Hope you feel better soon.

  5. Sick again, Kourtney? I’m so sorry. You’re probably better by now, as I’m commenting late!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

