The Secret Reason I Write

P1050028

When I was a little girl, I used to wish for one superpower: to be invisible. I didn’t want people to see me. I didn’t want to be looked at or teased. I wanted to be there but not be perceived.

I also was curious. Deeply and irrevocably curious about what other families were like. I wanted to sneak into their homes and watch them. See how the dad and mom interacted. What a family dinner at their house looked like. I wanted to walk through their house without anyone knowing and just see who they were when they thought no one was watching.

It took me years to realize that dream. And it’s not quite how I imagined it. You see, when I am writing, I disappear. The characters become real and I fade away.

I escape anything and everything in my own life and become a part of their world. I can smell and see the places they inhabit. I get to walk through someone else’s world without anyone noticing.

It’s the closest I can come to invisible and it feels extraordinary.

Do you have a secret reason you write?

***

Reminder: June 11 & 12 from 12 p.m. to 2 p.m. I will be at the Waterbury Barnes and Noble (235 Union Street) for the Teen Book Weekend signing books and giving out freebies. Stop by and enter my giveaway to win a B&N giftcard from me!

This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The Secret Reason I Write

  1. I write to relieve stress. Once I get caught up in the story, all is well.

  2. Ally Bean says:

    No secret reason why I write. I like to write, I can write, I have the time and inclination to write… so I write. [I really need to up my angsty misunderstood creative persona, don’t I? I’m too straightforward.]

    • That’s cool. Being straightforward is another way of being. Not better or worse. Just your way. I tend to have an apparent reason and a much deeper, secret reason. I’ve been told it’s part of being a scorpio. We crave layers and we like keeping things hidden. 🙂

  3. themadgayman says:

    Actually, mine’s pretty deep: I told stories when I was younger in order to receive attention. I started telling more elaborate stories in order to maintain a person’s attention until either I finished or completely jumped the shark.

    If you don’t mind, I’m going to write a post inspired by yours. Of course, I will link back to this post.

  4. Thanks for the insight into what makes you tick as a writer. I think most writers have harbored that secret (or not-so-secret) desire to eavesdrop and trespass on the lives of others. Another reason I write is to discover common threads with others–to feel not so alone as a human being.

    • I didn’t realize I’d realized that dream until it smacked me on the head. I guess it’s not something I’ve heard other authors talk about often or maybe not in the same terms, anyway. That’s a very cool reason to write. 🙂

  5. It’s not really a secret reason, but I write because I have to. I used to want to be invisible too — I’m thinking a lot of introverts feel this way!

    • That’s a great reason. Well that makes me feel a lot better. I thought wanting to be invisible and slipping into people’s homes was a really weird childhood wish. Thanks for making me feel normal. 🙂

  6. I can so understand that Kourtney.. The power of our imagination can indeed transport us into other realms of existence . And your story lines are wonderful portals to excape into.. 🙂

    At last I am here for the grand catch up 🙂

  7. feistyfroggy says:

    I’m currently writing to keep a promise.

  8. diannegray says:

    This is a great insight into why you write, Kourtney. I write because my characters won’t leave me alone until I tell their stories 😉

  9. Beautiful Kourtney, I love those reasons – there are many reasons I write – and probably many causes, curiosity is an important one.

Leave a Reply

