Colorado Fun in Photos

img_2406

This was the tastiest burger I’ve ever eaten at 5280 Burger Bar. The beef was so flavorful. The avocado, bacon, and cheddar definitely helped. First dinner in Denver!

img_2409

Denver street.

img_2415

 

View from 16th Street Mall.

img_2422

Victorian buildings at Larimer Square.

img_2430

Another view from 16th Street Mall.

img_2439

My hotel hallway.

img_2512

Driving out to Colorado Springs.

img_2553

Kelly, my high school buddy and my intrepid guide for the day! Thanks for taking the entire day off to show me the sights!

img_2616

The drive to Pike’s Peak. So glad Kelly was behind the wheel.

img_2698

The famous donuts at Pike’s Peak. They are cinnamony greasy goodness. Seems baking anything at 14,115 feet is a major, major feat!

img_2711

The view as we drove up the mountain.

 

img_2718

What a vista!

img_3162

This is me over where the America the Beautiful song was composed.

img_2753

Kelly and me!

img_2768

Did I mention heights scare me?

img_2771

Kelly had to take this picture. I was having altitude drunkenness and unable to work my camera well. Yup, it happened. It was hilarious.

img_2780

Snow. We have snow. It’s 80s in Denver and 30s up on Pike’s Peak.

img_3161

Just me being natural. 😉

img_2850

The road we came up.

img_2925

Me and bigfoot.

img_2959

 

Amazing Mexican food in Manitou Springs.

img_3158

My reaction to Soda Springs water.

img_2967

Manitou Springs map.

img_2971

Manitou Springs.

img_2981

 

Garden of the Gods. Where Kourtney refuses to climb up near the rock and Kelly improvises.

img_3016

A rock collector’s dream.

img_3057

 

Kourtney being natural. img_3061

Kissing Camels rocks.

img_3091

The cathedral. Yeah, I don’t wait in line to take pics. If you’re in mine, you’re in mine.

img_3123

Loved the colors.

img_3190

 

The Eldora Lodge in Golden, CA

img_3237

 

The Continental Divide.

img_3410

 

Boulderimg_3437

 

Dushanbe Teahouse in Bolder.

img_3442

Ceiling.

img_3460

Steak dinner at teahouse.

img_3485

 

Sunrise from my bathroom window.

img_3498

The ride to the airport.

This entry was posted in me time, Personal, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Colorado Fun in Photos

  1. Jeannie says:

    Roxies husband is from Denver it sure looks nice there.

  2. Phyllis K says:

    Kourtney…..Thanks so much for sharing your pics. It’s probably the only way I’m going to see Colorado and the scenery is amazing!

    • Glad you enjoyed them! I never thought I’d get out there. Then this amazing writing workshop came up and I made it my one big trip this year. The scenery is amazing. I’ve never seen a bluer sky. Honestly, coming home to the old cornflower blue is a bit disappointing. 😉

  3. What a great trip! Thanks for sharing your photographs, Kourtney.

  4. diannegray says:

    Wonderful pics, Kourtney! I’ve never been to Colorado – thanks so much for the awesome tour 🙂

  5. EllaDee says:

    What a great trip, and photo’s… love them. Great combo of scenic, yummy food and some laughs 🤓

    • Thanks. I had a wonderful time. It was a fantastic trip. I saw a lot in a few days. The writing workshop was one of the best ones I’ve ever been through and gave me a new perspective when revising my books!

  6. Lori says:

    Oh, what fun! I went to Pike’s Peak and Garden of the Gods many years ago. Your pics brought back memories. I also remember altitude drunkeness. So glad you got away. The mountains are always so peaceful.

    • It truly was! I was researching stuff to do in Denver and Kelly came up with these breathstealing sights instead. 🙂 Happy to bring back good memories. That was so crazy. I literally could not operate my phone. Me too. It really helped to have a few fun days and then get down to work on my writing. Very peaceful and beautiful!

  7. Wow Kourtney.. Loved that series of photos. you and your friend Kelly seemed to have had a wonderful time.. Loved Big Foot.. and could see that Spring Water was not to your liking loved that face..
    Fantastic that you had fun in Colorado and those mountain views lovely..
    Have an enjoyable week.. Hugs and Love Sue xxx

  8. Aquileana says:

    Hi Kourt!!!!!, It is been a while… I have been off for a vacation ealier this month… the landscapes above kinda of reminded me of certain places in Mendoza (where I have been!)… beautiful place and sounds like an exciting trip… I hope that you had much fun… best of luck and love to you. Aquileana 😉

    • Totally understand. I was on blog break taking care of writing stuff most of my summer. Hope you had a great vacation! I’ve never been there. But it sounds gorgeous. Definitely had fun and worked hard–perfect balance. Hugs,
      K

  9. Great tour Kourtney, I thoroughly enjoyed taking the trip with you 🙂

  10. OK you’ve pictured some of my favorite places. Glad you’re enjoying them. Cool in so many ways! (Nothing like mts and mt. skies to emphasize exactly how big and important mankind is?. Love the picture with the road! We’ll get you climbing the next time you go there…you’ll be back! How could you not?)

    • Absolutely gorgeous places. I had to capture that road it was ridiculous. I don’t know how my friend drove it. I probably won’t ever be a hiker. I tend to get awful altitude sickness. It took me a good 4 days to adjust and just be functional. I tend to be more of a beach girl, but I would go back for another writing retreat. 😉

Leave a Reply

