A Little Update…

img_4240

I hope everyone had a good holiday. It’s been a touch road lately, but I’m making progress.

My vertigo turned out to be a kind that doesn’t just clear up on its own. I’ve been going to vestibular therapy all month. In early December, I could barely stand and was dealing with constant nausea and motion sickness. I lost time, forget simple things, had trouble putting a sentence together, and felt like nothing was real. Like I wasn’t here.

I can stand now. I can walk a mile. I can stand at the board to teach again for my classes. I can think and I feel here again. Serious progress.

But I am still struggling with turning my head or moving my eyes when I do things. Both set off the vertigo. I’m not driving yet. My therapy requires that I do things that make my condition worse until my body acclimatizes to it. It’s working, but it’s slower than I’d like.

I’m not back to my old self. Not in terms of energy or balance or focus. Not yet. But I’m hoping that I will be by this spring.

I’m teaching two courses at school and I’m in editorial revisions for the sequel to The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts. The publisher has it set for an October 2017 release. And I’ve got to get my therapy exercises in twice a day every day to continue to get better.

I can’t be back on social media the way I used to be. For now, I will post to my blog twice a month and check in on FB and Twitter weekly.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in book release, illness, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to A Little Update…

  1. pinkcobweb1 says:

    I hope you feel better soon! I get positional vertigo and tinnitus…it is a strange one…but I can imagine how it is for you….xx

    • Thanks. Sorry to hear that. It’s so hard because my perception is twisted. It makes me work so much harder to do things I used to do automatically. It drains my brain and causes cognitive issues that are scary. But with each week, I get a little more back.

  2. Hugs! But it sounds like you’re making progress, which is a good thing. Here’s to a steady resolution to the problem.

  3. Carrie Rubin says:

    Thanks for the update, Kourtney. Glad you’ve made some improvement and are at least able to work on your edits. Here’s hoping you make continued progress. Must be very frustrating for you.

    • Me too. It’s a longer road than I realized. My brain is slowly feeling like mine again. So much mental energy went into balancing and moving, I barely had any left for work. But the more I do my therapy, the sharper my mind becomes. Hugs. It’s been very frustrating and it’s made me question a lot of things in my life.

  4. K. Lyn Wurth says:

    Glad to hear from you, but I understand that you can’t be on social media much. An extended illness takes a lot of time and energy, and priorities shift. Bless you, dear writer. Take care of yourself and know that we’re rooting for you. All shall be well.

    • Thanks. I just don’t have the same mental capacity that I did. I hit exhaustion and I can’t think or work anymore. I can’t power through like I used to. So I’m accepting the limits and working within them. Actively marketing the books and social media had to be backburnered for a while. Aw thank you. I really appreciate the support. Hugs!

  5. Sending you love and healing thoughts Kourtney.. So sorry you have this type of vertigo.. I know how it can affect you as my nephew is still on medication .. But much improved like you its slow..
    I hope you soon get back to normal Kourtney..
    You are the most important person here.. Not us.. So Look after yourself.. Sending Love Much Love
    Sue xxx ❤

    • Thanks so much. It’s been a long road. The therapy is all about doing stuff that brings on the vertigo and makes you feel sick but doing it just enough to get your body to acclimate without making you terribly ill. The anti-nausea meds are a godsend, I couldn’t get through my day without them. Thanks for understanding. I truly would love to be here like I was and be social media active like I was, but I can’t until my health is back where it was. But I’ll do my best to be around when the writing is done and I have a little time. 🙂

  6. kford2007 says:

    Hugs!! I’m glad you’re getting better.

  7. I’ve been thinking about you this week Kourtney, I was actually about to send you an email when this popped up. I’m sorry to hear it’s been such a hard road but I’m glad you’re making progress and hope that you’re much better soon.

    • Thanks for thinking of me. I’ve been in a pretty blucky place mentally. I don’t like to spew my yuckiness, so I’ve just kept to myself and worked on getting better. Me too. I hope I can reach a point where I don’t have to worry about turning. It’s hard to say exactly how much better I’ll get, but I keep pushing and progressing. Hugs.

  8. I’ve been wondering how you were doing.
    One of my neighbors had this. He did get well – so hang in there. It will get better!
    I think you’re very brave teaching and editing with all this going on.
    Luckily you have a little fur person keeping an eye on you.
    take care and thanks for the update

    • Thanks. When I’m sick, I tend to pull inward a lot. Especially with this. It was taking me out physically and mentally. That’s good to hear. I am working on turning this week. It still makes my stomach flip but it’s slowly getting easier. My doctor said the most important thing was to keep moving around and try to do as much as I can. Otherwise it gets harder to recover. He’s the best. The goldens have been great too. I take them out half an hour at lunch and play with them. Hugs!

  9. Sheila says:

    I’m happy to hear you’re feeling a little better – hang in there! I hope that furry face will help you to keep feeling better too.

  10. Mayumi-H says:

    Do not feel that you need to reply. I just wanted to say I’m very glad to read you’re on the mend, surely if a bit slowly. Sending good health vibes your way to help you on your journey! ❤

    • Thanks. I’m a little slow on the replies, but I want to make sure I get to them. Aw, thank you very much. I really appreciate it. I am hoping to get more online in mid February and March for sure. Hugs!

  11. carlamcgill says:

    I am amazed at how much you are doing, Kourtney. Congratulations! Wow, teaching at all while feeling this way must be challenging. May you have a full recovery!

Leave a Reply

