Taking My Time

IMG_0879.JPG

 

I spent the past year rushing. Rushing to get revisions done. Rushing to line up promo events. Rushing to create marketing materials. Rushing. Rushing. Rushing.

I can’t remember a single moment where I wasn’t trying to do something faster or feeling like I was behind.

And in the end, I got sick. A prolonged, frustrating sick.

That brings me to today. I’m working at 75-80% of my usual abilities. I can’t rush. When I do, everything gets messed up.

And I realize I hate rushing. It sucks the joy out of what I’m doing.

So I’d rather do things at a more reasonable pace and actually, well, enjoy my life.

I’m done putting tons of pressure on myself to be faster and faster. I’m actually going to aim to be a little slower with things.

My goal for 2017: I’m going to do less in more time.

 

 

This entry was posted in illness, Personal, revision and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Taking My Time

  1. That is Good Kourtney.. Sometimes our illness’s come to slow us down on perpose.. When we do not listen to our bodies.. Then something Big often comes to stop us in our tracks…
    I hope you do take things a little slower.. And LOOK after YOU.. xxx xxx ❤ Hugs my friend xx

  2. I think your goal is an excellent one!

  3. So wise! I hope the shift brings you back into balance, especially health-wise.

  4. Mayumi-H says:

    Love your new outlook, Kourtney. It sounds like absolutely the best choice, too!

  5. Glad to ‘see’ you Kourtney. You always have seemed like a whirlwind in terms of what you’re doing and achieving, but yes, we all need to slow down – I usually find I get ill if I’ve been overwhelmingly busy. I hope your recovery continues and that you enjoy the slower pace.

    • Thanks, Andrea. I never slowed down. I was in a constant state of extreme stress thinking everything was do or die with the book. But it came out and then I got so sick. It wasn’t worth it. Slowly seeing progress with things, but it’s a long haul back to my old healthy self.

  6. carlamcgill says:

    I hope you are approaching normalcy now, Kourtney. I am catching up on my blog reading, so I am not sure what occurred after all the vertigo, but it sounds as if you are up and around, able to do more, feeling better. Hoping that you will continue your recovery and enjoy all the good moments!

    • I am normal in about 85% of my daily tasks. Going to stores, conferences, or anywhere loud or crowded still brings on vertigo episodes. Driving also causes problems. I caught a nasty respiratory bug that has slowed my progress. Every time I cough, sneeze, blow my nose–I get a vertigo moment. I try not to dwell on the negative and just keep doing what I can. Definitely improved a lot since December, but not back to where I was in October before it all happened. Thanks so much. I have more good moments and I’m trying to enjoy them. 🙂

    • I am normal in about 85% of my daily tasks. Going to stores, conferences, or anywhere loud or crowded still brings on vertigo episodes. Driving also causes problems. I caught a nasty respiratory bug that has slowed my progress. Every time I cough, sneeze, blow my nose–I get a vertigo moment. I try not to dwell on the negative and just keep doing what I can. Definitely improved a lot since December, but not back to where I was in October before it all happened. Thanks so much. I have more good moments and I’m trying to enjoy them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

