Dog Days of Winter

img_4326

I lay down in the snow one day and just looked up at the trees. When I lived in the city, Emerson and I would take walks and go lay on a bench and stare up at the trees. I don’t know why I stopped making time for that, so I’m going to do more of it this year.

img_4349

Reagan has this new game in the snow, she takes a tennis ball, buries it, and then digs it out. This provides such entertainment for her. And as the snow goes flying past me, I can’t help but laugh.

We also play ball a few times a week. She does this thing where she bit the ball with her nose back at you to play catch. Hilarious.

img_4362

Emerson and I have been playing more. He loves to take my old clothes and beat them up and chew on them.

He can make a game out of anything. Sometimes we are lying in bed and I move and he decides it’s a game and starts attacking me.

It’s funny what amuses animals. And how much it amuses me to watch them.

What do your pets do that makes you smile or laugh?

 

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Dog Days of Winter

  1. Reagan’s game sounds a lot like Dillon’s. 🙂 Isn’t it amazing, sometimes, to do something and suddenly realize that it’s something we enjoy and used to do more of but then… stopped.

    • I love how creative dogs are at making a game of anything. I can be doing my physical therapy exercises and Emerson makes it into a game. Aw that is so cute! It is. I’ve spent time thinking about what I stopped doing in the past 3 years. Things I want to do again and pieces of my I want to bring back.

  2. Carrie Rubin says:

    No pets for me, sadly. My husband is too allergic. But when I visit my mom, I get to enjoy her hoity-toity cat who pretends not to like me. But purring never lies… 😄

  3. Since we don’t have any pets, I’ve decided to cyber-adopt Emerson…he’s so cute! I hope you’re feeling better, Kourtney.

    • Aw you did have that frog for a few days in your bathroom though. 😉 Absolutely. That way you get the best of him. He’s a cranky pants sometimes too. But after 12 years, I’ve gotten to know all his moods. Thanks. I’m slowly getting better. Still struggling with using my Ipad and my iphone. The scrolling bothers me. Crowded places remain overwhelming, but I can work and I’m making progress on the next book so that’s a huge leap from December.

  4. Lori says:

    Hi Kourtney. Glad you’ve discovered the joy of simplicity that our pets bring us. Which one of those two precious four-leggeds is Emerson? I can’t even think of one thing my Max does that makes me laugh. He has so many. I’m constantly giggling when he plays in the snow. He begs me to throw snowballs for him to catch in his mouth, not to mention the way he buries his face and nose underneath. The way he plays with his squeaky toys and barks back at them is funny, too.

    Enjoy the rest of your week.

    • Emerson is the little guy who looks like an ewok. The golden is my parents. Though she adores me too. Emerson in the yard is funny because he still prefers pavement to grass even after 6 years of living around grass. Aw that is so cute. Hugs and thanks. 🙂

  5. There’s nothing as simple or wonderful as spending time with our animal companions 🙂

  6. TBM says:

    Animals have such a wonderful sense of play.

  7. Sheila says:

    Our dog always loved to jump in the ocean and body surf. It was funny watching her do that, with her head popping up over the waves. I’m glad you’re getting out there to enjoy the trees and the snow! Love and hugs!

    • Aw that is too cute! Our youngest loves water, but the other two aren’t fans. Emerson prefers to sit on a beach and watch me swim. Thanks. I’m trying to push myself to expand my abilities without getting sick. I have to keep doing stuff or else my balance will plateau and I won’t regain any more. Hugs!

  8. When RC Cat or Molly insist I stop and remember real life is not plugged in – that makes me smile. How wise pets are

Leave a Reply

